In recent years, pastors across our diocese have received numerous questions from those afflicted with various manifestations of gluten intolerance, such as Celiac-Sprue disease. The questions are raised in regards to the reception of Holy Communion. Many gluten-intolerant suffers are unable to ingest wheat flour commonly used in the preparation wafers in the United States. Those who suffer from some form of school intolerance are likewise restricted from receiving the Precious Blood.
- Bishop Carl F. Mengeling, 2005